Painting a White Tiger Step by Step Tutorial.

Some visitors have asked to see some step by steps of my latest White Tiger painting. So this is for all those interested in how a painting develops. I’ll post some more photos soon :)

The 1st photo (below) shows the painting with the pencil drawing transfered to the canvas and then sealed with a fine spray of pencil / pastel fixative. When that was dry I washed over a thin coat of acrylic (Burnt Umber).

toning the canvas

Whilst the acrylic was still wet I used a few pieces of kitchen tissue and wiped most of it off. This just left a stain of colour, which is much nicer to paint over than a stark white canvas.

With the stain dry (above) I painted over most of the main pencil lines with a dark mix of Burnt Umber / Ultramarine Blue acrylic. This was just to re-establish my main lines so that I would see them more easily when I began to apply the oils.

tiger underpainting

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

14 Responses to Painting a White Tiger Step by Step Tutorial.

  1. Cindi Creswell says:

    Jason, you are such an inspiration. I love your work and appreciate your tutorials. I don’t work in oils so I convert to acrylics or pencil. Thanks for letting me and others look over your shoulder as you create.

  2. Larry G. Ciancio says:

    Jason, like you I love the big cats and african animals of all kinds. I work in oil and have finished several paintings of African animals, Kudo, Water Buck, Cape Buffalo, Mountain Gorilla, Lion and a Zebra is presently on the easel. Although I have sold my painting over the years it is for my relaxation. I marvel at the detail of your brush strokes and wonder how do you create such detailed fur lines or outlines? I have many brushes and yet, I more than not attain your quaility of line. I admire your paintings and do enjoy your tutorials. Thank you.

  3. Maureen H. says:

    I have just viewed your painting of a white tiger and I think it is absolutely wonderful. I do view your paintings on line quite often and admire your work very much. I have only been painting for over 2 years and have never had a lesson. I have attempted to paint tigers, lions and one elephant amongst other things in oils . I just wish I had pursued this hobby much earlier in life!

    • wildlifeart says:

      Painting is such a great thing to do, it calms and focuses the mind all in one go :) So glad you dropped by my blog and left such a nice comment – much appreciated :)

  4. Celina says:

    I just have to let you know how amazing i think you are!!! you have such a fabulous talent! keep up the excellent work.. and i will keep following you, thank you for inspiring me to keep painting!! i LOVE all your work!!

  5. Susan B says:

    Hi Jason,

    We have spoken before. I admire your work greatly and hope I can paint as well as you eventually. This particular painting is stunning and beyond words. Thank you for taking the time to explaint how you created such a wonderful piece. How long would you say it takes you to complete a painting like this?

    I started painting late in life two and have only been painting a couple of years as I was afraid of oils. Wish I had started much earlier too as I do love art. Your paintings are mesmerizing.

    • wildlifeart says:

      Thank you for the really nice post Susan.
      The Tiger took a few weeks to paint, quite time intensive at times too. Oh plu sabout 15 years worth o fpractice :) ha…

      Jason

  6. Sarah Cary says:

    Hi Jason,
    I always look forward to your e-mails and your sharing the paintings with us.
    They make me want to get a brush and TRY to paint a big cat like yours.
    I have a facination with the big cats and you paint them absolutely beautiful.
    I constantly go to your site to take in all the beauty of your work. You are so blessed with a wonderful talent and “Thank You” for sharing it with us.

  7. malcolm0122 says:

    Brilliant. Keep up the great work and I find it very interesting how you can paint a picture that is beyond the quality of a photograph. Really love the step by step articles.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

