Gorilla – Starting Oil Painting

Hi everyone – happy new year!

As you can see from the latest update I have now started to go over the acrylic underpainting with oil paints. This is only the blocking in stage, so as usual I will go over everything with a few layers of oils, increasing the details and adjusting colours with each new layer.

As usual you can see more update photos on my wildlife art site.

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

8 Responses to Gorilla – Starting Oil Painting

  1. Thomas says:

    Jason : I m sure this will turn out into a masterpiece. Good luck.

    You might be interested in checking out my latest post on my first photographs of the Indian Tiger.

  2. Sophia says:

    Hi Jason,
    You are a wonderful artist! So lifelike and awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful talent with everyone. The Siberian Tigers are my favorites!

  3. Cheryl Jones says:

    Hi Jason!
    Hope your holidays were excellent, and I wish you lots of success in 2009!
    I am looking forward to more teaching cds, and may I make a suggestion? Would it be possible to explain more techniques in achieving your backgrounds and foregrounds, and how you make a decision on colors? Your present lessons have helped me achieve so much in my own paintings, and for me, quite often I have problems determining color mixture for scenes. Maybe you can enlighten myself, as well as others who share this same dilemma. When will your new cds be completed?
    I am looking forward to more of your insight, Jason!

    Sincerely,
    Cheryl Jones
    East Liverpool, Ohio USA

    • wildlifeart says:

      Sounds like a good idea Cheryl, I’m thinking along the lines of doing a “complete oil painting beginners” CD/Ebook to start – and I will cover everything from selecting paints etc to basic colour mixing and seeing true colours. I plan then to do probably a novice and advanced CD – those two will concentrate on wildlife more – the beginners one will be more general painting.

  4. Cheryl Jones says:

    Jason:
    Your ideas for a new series sound fantastic! Sign me up!!

    Take Care,
    Cheryl Jones

Leave a Reply

