Another Cape Buffalo Study – Mean Guy!

I’ve continued to paint another Cape Buffalo study (see more on my site – Art Studies)whilst the gorilla painting is drying, this one I loved – it looks real mean. Although most people think Cape Buffalo are grey they really are anything but, when you really look close. I will add two more buffalo under these two, this time they will be in their natural surrounding, walking through marsh – where they are most at home – I thought it would be a nice change to the dryness of the vegetation in the top two studies.

The studies will be for sale if any collectors are interested.

Cape Buffalo Study – Oil on canvas

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

8 Responses to Another Cape Buffalo Study – Mean Guy!

  1. Thomas says:

    This is another great painting in the making.

    Jason : You should consider putting up a Etsy shop online. Its another innovative way to promote online.

    • wildlifeart says:

      Thanks for the idea Thomas – at the moment other than my limited editions the images are copyrighted by an image gallery so my hands are tied – perhaps in the future? thanks again

  2. Regina says:

    Would you know if Dian Fossey was an artist?

  3. Hi Jason,
    I just found your site. I was looking online for more information on the Cape Buffalo and found there you were. Great work, my friend. I am also an aritst and have a client that is a big African game hunter who needes a large painting of Cape Buffalo for over the fireplace. I am striving to do a pleasing composition yet trying to keep the nature of the animals intact. Do you find that difficult as an aritst? Yeah, we sometimes know what might look better, but it may not fit into the “big picture” so to speak. I tend to be a little compulsive when it comes to getting the animal right in the right habitat etc…. I want my main “Buff” to be real ruttie and nasty. I know you go to Africa and take many of your own photos, but where else do you get your reference material? Thanks for having such a cool site and sharing your work.
    Suzanne

    • wildlifeart says:

      Thanks – to be honest I just go with what feels right – as well as using my own references I have friends that are photographers, plus loads of books which give me ideas I adjust. Hope that helps

      jason

  4. Thomas Kamwaza says:

    I like them so much .I am a self taught artist i am still learning i am still new to painting but i am sure to produce nice paintings.I am studying wildlife art.I have found that you are good and i would like to learn from you how you do you paintings

Leave a Reply

