Latest Painting Update

Not too far to go on this one now!

Hope everyone is enjoying watching it.

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

11 Responses to Latest Painting Update

  1. Erik says:

    Impressive painting, I really like his intense eyes.

    I have a question Jason, I couldn’t find it in your e-book but
    why do you tape the edges of your painting surface instead of painting until the very edge of the board?

    Regards, Erik

    • wildlifeart says:

      Thanks for the question Erik,

      I paint on canvas which I tape taught to a rigid board, the masking tape shows me where I can paint up to. There is about 3 inches of unpainted canvas all round the painting, ready for the framer to stretch / frame at the customers. It just means shipping is much cheaper and safer.

      Hope that helps

      jason

  2. Thomas says:

    Awesome as always. The look on his face is so intense. Wish you luck with one too

  3. Erik says:

    Thanks Jason,
    Yes that was helpful. Have you switched to canvas entirely or do you also paint on Masonite sometimes?

  4. Mark says:

    Just discovered your blog and work – fantastic stuff Jason. Will return often. Looking forward to seeing the Great Migration come to print.

  5. Hi Jason,

    I randomly found your blog through a google search, seeking out other professional wildlife artists that have blogs – and I’m so glad I did! Your work is excellent – as a photo-realist myself I appreciate the level of work that goes into the details in your paintings. Although most of my work is in colored pencils, I have tried my hand at oils and certainly respect the talent required to perfect that medium! Well done, and I look forward to seeing more of your posts.

    Christina Langman
    http://www.BigCatArt.com

  6. wildlifeart says:

    Thanks Christina,

    Appreciate your very kind words

    Jason

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog. Mate, your work is absolutely amazing, I have truly enjoyed reading your blog and viewing your art. As a photographer the photo-realist style you use really appeals to me and I am floored by the amount of detail in your paintings. I have subscribed to your blog, look very much forward to following your work.

    Flemming Bo Jensen Photography
    http://www.flemmingbojensen.com

    • wildlifeart says:

      My feelings are likewise regarding your photography – inspiring to say the least!!! I’m keeping my 40D on me at all times from know on – well almost all the time ha….

Leave a Reply

