Tiger Painting – Bringing him to life – adding the details

Before I can add details I need a nice dark layer to work over, otherwise the lighter details would never show up.

To get this dark layer I cover the Tiger with a thin coat of painting medium, the use a dark colour mix like Burnt Umber, Ultra Marine Blue etc then brush it in to the wet medium.

tiger oil paintings

When the dark layer is dry I once again cover the surface with a thin coat of medium, but this time I am using it to help my brash marks slip on the canvas.

This is the 1st layer of proper details, there will be a few more layers before I am satisfied with the details.

tiger paintings

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

One Response to Tiger Painting – Bringing him to life – adding the details

  1. Ten Nebula says:

    Peace and Light, Jason

    I enjoy your arts blog.
    I hope all is unfolding in your life in ease,joy, harmony, and abundance!
    Have a great 2011!!!

    Bright Blessings,

    Ten Nebula
    http://www.AGatheringofArtists.Blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

