Tiger Painting, Rock Details and More….

Hi :wave:

OK….. been working quite a bit on the Tiger Painting and it’s getting closer to completion πŸ™‚

I started working on the rock (I usually enjoy painting the other elements in the painting more than the subject πŸ™‚

I wanted to make sure the rock looked, well, hard πŸ™„Β  and I also wanted to get plenty of texture in it so that it played off against the softness of the Tigers fur.

So I masked off the Tiger with just a bit of kitchen tissue, grabbed my wife’s toothbrush, when she wasn’t looking :pΒ  and started to flick paint at the rock πŸ™‚

The photo below is a close up of the final effect (I used a macro lens to get in real close, hence the blur front and back).

painting rock texture

I then let that dry before I started to add form to the rock. It worked quite well as the speckles were visible in the darker areas of the rock, but not on the lighter, smoother areas.

This photo doesnt show it up much, but you get the idea.

texture

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

Leave a Reply

