Tiger in Moonlight, grasses and stripes

More refinement at this stage, plus the addition of some grasses (just the darks for now – lighter grasses and back-lit grasses later).

tiger painting

About Jason Morgan - wildlife artist
I am UK based professional wildlife artist specializing in big cat and large scale African wildlife paintings. Through my site "http://www.onlineartdemos.co.uk" I sell my limited edition prints and original paintings worldwide - I have had an online gallery now for over 12 years, I also have a Learn to paint wildlife teaching site - http://www.jasonmorgan.co.uk

13 Responses to Tiger in Moonlight, grasses and stripes

  1. Tareq Sha'ar says:

    great work….like it so much….like the shadows and the way you painted the tiger..keep going Jason 🙂

  2. Fay Carne says:

    Always lovely to get an update and chance to see your beautiful paintings. Am very interested to see the moonlight come into this one. thankyou for sharing. Kind regards, fay.

    • wildlifeart says:

      Thanks Fay, glad you like it 🙂

      • Fay Carne says:

        You’re welcome Jason.
        I have painted 1 Tiger, a while back now, and promised myself i would do other big cats aswell, thanks to seeing your beautiful Snow leopard demo.
        I would love to learn more about glazing between layers, it’s a bit scary painting over details that took time to paint in the first place! so i tried to build up the fur colours by just leaving some of the lower colour showing through, but i did get in a bit of a ‘jumble’ with it all at times!
        Again Thankyou for sharing your beautiful work, Fay.

      • wildlifeart says:

        The trick is to use transparent colours so that you can still see most of the details through the glaze. I only use it a lot of yellow types of fur really.

      • Fay Carne says:

        thankyou Jason,
        I may have got some of my colours a little too orange,certainly compared to your beautiful works. I don’t know what colours to mix, for any shade, automatically, so i tend to ‘play around’ adding a ‘little more’ or a ‘little less’, which ,i’m sure, wastes a lot of time! Regards, Fay.

      • wildlifeart says:

        It’s always trial and error with me too. Good thing with glazes is the under painting is dry so if you dont like it just wipe of straight away and try again 🙂

  3. Fay Carne says:

    thanks Jason, it never entered my head to wipe it off, Doh!!
    Am going to glaze between layers next time, without a doubt. have a nice wknd, Regards Fay.

  4. Joe Villacorta says:

    Jason , First and formost thank you for sharing your Knowledge and I admire your talent :
    tile for your recent painting “ Night Hunting ” simple But that was that came to mind when. saw That beautiful painting . I have done two of your Painting the Red panda & white tiger hurr
    Thank you . Joe Villacorta

  5. camsart7 says:

    Wow! I just love this. It’s really magical. I love tigers. I paint mostly in soft pastels so doing fine details is always a bit chunky. When I see your tiger pictures will all the tiny fur strokes I’m amazed. How big is this painting because I could see it hanging along a lounge room wall. It would look stunning!

Leave a Reply

